Skip to main content

Special Education

About Us

The Department for Special Education and the Vallejo City Unified School District SELPA provides leadership to schools so that all students will have educational success.  We focus on District Goals in the areas of Equity, Excellence, Educational Effectiveness and Economic Sustainability.  We help ensure that Vallejo's students with special needs are given the support they need in general education and can also access, as needed, a continuum of specialized instruction through their Individualized Education Program (IEP).  As per Federal Law, the specialized instruction should always meet the unique needs of the student, in all areas of suspected disability, and be reasonably calculated to provide educational benefit in the least restrictive environment.

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE (CAC)

UPCOMING MEETINGS:  

  Date: November 14, 2019

  Location: Steffan Manor, 815 Cedar St, Vallejo CA 

  Time: 10: 30 am - 12:00 pm 

College REsources

Services and Financial Aid for College Students with Disabilities
 
 Access to College Disability Services

 
Financial Aid for Students with Disabilities
 

Special Education Records Request

 To request copies of your child's Special Education records, click on the link below to submit an order.

pic


 

 

If you have questions regarding a Special Education records request, please email shatter@vcusd.org  

 

Other School Districts:

To request a student's Special Education File be sent to your district, please fax a request to:

1(707) 638-3548 Attn: Special Education Dept. or email shatter@vcusd.org

 

 

If you have questions regarding evaluations or other Special Education services, please contact the Special Education Department at (707) 556-8921 ext. 50149

 

pic
 

FREE PEDIATRIC CLINIC!

What type of services does the Clinic provide?

  • FREE complete physical exams for children ages 1-18 (pre-school, 1st grade, sports, etc.)
  • FREE immunizations
  • FREE treatment for minor illness/injury
  • FREE dental screening
  • FREE vision and hearing screening with referral
  • FREE help enrolling in no- to low-cost insurance

Student/Family Health Centers
Pennycook Clinic
3620 Fernwood Avenue
Vallejo, CA 94591

(707) 556-8921 ext. 59845

Open Monday and Wednesdays
10:00am - 4:30pm

Elsa Widenmann Clinic
100 Whitney Drive
Vallejo, CA 94589
(entrance on Mini Drive)

(707) 556-8921 ext. 56549

Open Tuesdays and Thursdays
11:00am - 6:00pm


Services are free for those who qualify. We ask that those families who have private insurance please make a donation to help defray the cost of medical supplies and running the clinic.  The Vallejo Unified School District is providing this announcement as a public service to parents. The District has not evaluated or approved the program or service; Parents are encouraged to make their own evaluation of the program if it interests them.

Department Contacts


District Phone Number
(707) 556-8921
Special Education Fax Number
1 (707) 638-3548


Rachel Chang, Director of Special Education

Rachel Chang
Director Special Education/SELPA
Ext. 50158
rchang@vcusd.org

 

Sally Sweatfield  
Assistant Director 
Ext. 50156
ssweatfield@vcusd.org 

 

Shomonique Johnson
Behavior Coordinator 
Ext. 50242
sgjohnson@vcusd.org

 

Michele Morrison Mosbarger
Elementary Program Specialist
Ext. 50290
morrisonmosbarger@vcusd.org

 

AJ (Kevin) Goines
 Secondary Program Specialist
Ext. 50169
kgoines@vcusd.org

 

Carla Gayden
  Everest & Preschool Program Specialist
Ext. 54702 
cgayden@vcusd.org

 

John Call
Nonpublic School Program Specialist
Ext. 50034
jcall@vcusd.org

 

Joyce Montgomery
Transition Services Supervisor
Ext. 50722
jmontgomery@vcusd.org

 

Katie Staniszewski-Ortiz
Lead Speech Language Pathologist & Child Find Team
Ext. 50148
kstaniszewskiortiz@vcusd.org

 

Victoria Galbert
CCEIS Plan & PAXIS Program
Ext. 50153
vgalbert@vcusd.org

 

Elise Schilling
Operations Specialist Student Health & Special Education
Ext. 50142
eschilling@vcusd.org

 

Annie Medina
Student Data Specialist for SELPA/ SEIS
Ext. 50159
amedina@vcusd.org

 

Franstina Moore
Staff Secretary IV 
Contracts & Budget
Ext. 50157
fmoore@vcusd.org

 

Shavay Hatter
Staff Secretary II
Ext. 50149
shatter@vcusd.org