Skip to main content

 Office Hours 

 Monday - Friday 

 8:00 am - 5:00 pm 

Behavior Needs:

If your are seeking behavior assistance:

Policy and Guidelines for Request for Special Circumstances Individual Assistance (SCIA) and Classroom Support Aides

For Questions Contact:

Michele Morrison-Mosbarger
Coordinator 
mmorrisonmosbarger@vcusd.org

College Resources

Services and Financial Aid for College Students with Disabilities
 
 Access to College Disability Services

 
Financial Aid for Students with Disabilities

Special Education

SELPA Local Plan 2020: 

Public Hearing Notice

 

About Us

     The Department for Special Education and the Vallejo City SELPA provides leadership to schools so that all students will have educational success.  We focus on District Goals in the areas of Equity, Excellence, Educational Effectiveness and Economic Sustainability.  We help ensure that Vallejo's students with special needs are given the support they need in general education and can also access, as needed, a continuum of specialized instruction through their Individualized Education Program (IEP).  As per Federal Law, the specialized instruction should always meet the unique needs of the student, in all areas of suspected disability, and be reasonably calculated to provide educational benefit in the least restrictive environment.

Special Education Assistance:

District Phone Number
(707) 556-8921
Special Education Fax Number
1 (707) 638-3548

Support Staff:

For assistance with registration, transportation, interpreters, records request: 

Shavay Hatter
Special Education Secretary
Ext. 50149
shatter@vcusd.org

Immunizations, contracts, home hospital, payroll, reimbursements, attendance, complaints:

Elise Schilling
Special Education Operations Specialist
Ext. 50142
eschilling@vcusd.org

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE (CAC)

UPCOMING MEETINGS:  

Date: April 23, 2020   Time: 10: 30 am - 12:00 pm 

  Location: Steffan Manor, 815 Cedar St, Vallejo CA 

Department Contacts

Administrative Staff

 

Rachel Chang, Director of Special Education

Rachel Chang
Director Special Education/SELPA

Franstina Moore
Special Education Director Secretary
Ext. 50157
fmoore@vcusd.org

Sally Sweatfield  
Assistant Director 
Ext. 50156
ssweatfield@vcusd.org 

Michele Morrison Mosbarger
Elementary Program Specialist
Ext. 50290
mmorrisonmosbarger@vcusd.org

AJ (Kevin) Goines
 Secondary Program Specialist
Ext. 50169
kgoines@vcusd.org

Carla Gayden
   Preschool Program Specialist
Ext. 50134
cgayden@vcusd.org

Joyce Montgomery
Transition Services Supervisor
Ext. 50722
jmontgomery@vcusd.org

Victoria Galbert
CCEIS Plan & PAXIS Program
Ext. 50153
vgalbert@vcusd.org

Annie Medina
Student Data Specialist for SELPA/ SEIS
Ext. 50159
amedina@vcusd.org